Ankara Etnography Museum
The Ethnography Museum of Ankara is the first museum of Turkish Republic which was planned and built by the directive of Atatürk, the nice leader. Arif Hikmet Koyunoğlu, the architect of the building, is one among the foremost valuable architects of the Republican period. The Architecture of this amazing museum “ Ethnography Museum of Ankara” reflects the beauty of every period of Anatolia from the first ages to the Republic.
The Museum which was opened to the general public on 18th July 1930 and was open until the date in November 1938 where the inner courtyard of the museum served as the temporary grave for Atatürk. The Ethnographic museum of Ankara reopened its doors to the general public, attributable to the International Museums week, on 6th-14th October 1956.
Ethnography Museum of Ankara contains an upscale collection of works which reflect ethnographic aspects of all people lived in Anatolia At the museum, it's possible to determine folk costumes, ornaments, Turkish specific technical materials changed from various regions of Anatolia in addition because the finest forms of Ottoman calligraphy art, Turkish tile and glass art, metalworking art and wooden artifacts.
Also exhibited at the Ethnography Museum may be a collection of carpets and kilims from the famous carpet weaving centers of Uşak, Bergama, Kula, Milas, Ladik, Karaman, Niğde, and Kırşehir. The museum also includes a specialized library on Anatolian ethnography and folklore, containing artifacts available associated with the history of art.
History Of The Ethnography Museum
The Ethnography Museum served as a mausoleum for 15 years. it absolutely was visited by presidents, ambassadors, and foreign delegations, similarly as by the general public. Between 1953 and 1956, renovations were allotted and other preparations made for the International Museum Week, which materialized from 6-14 November 1956.
Arif Hikmet (Koyunoğlu), the architect of the building, is one in all the foremost renowned architects of the first Republican Period. The building encompasses a rectangular plan with one dome. The stone walls are covered with coarse sandstone, and therefore the marble pediment has carved decoration.
The building is designed by a stair of 28 steps. The doorway is tripartite, with four columns. The portal ends up in a hall beneath the dome and to a colonnaded inner courtyard.
Inside the museum
To the proper of the doorway of the Museum are the hall during which the Anatolian bridal ceremony is explained and bridal dresses from various cities of Anatolia are exhibited, the hall displaying examples and techniques of Turkish embroidery, the hall exhibiting samples of Turkish carpets and rugs, and therefore the hall during which Anatolian coffee culture and also the circumcision ceremony are explained.
Inside the museum to the left of the doorway are the section of tile and glass artifacts, the hall within which the objects donated by Besim Atalay are exhibited, the hall during which samples of Ottoman Calligraphy Art are displayed, and also the halls containing a number of the best wooden artifacts from the Seljuk Period and also the period of the Principalities.