Ataturk and the War of Independence Museum
The building, designed by an architect called Vedat Tek (1873-1942) and built because the Republican People's Headquarters in 1923, was later converted to function as the Assembly building. The two-storey building also includes a basement floor. The centrally located two-storey high main auditorium is surrounded by rooms on three sides.
The most foyer, which stretches right along the entry facade, has two grand stairs at opposite ends and its ceiling is decorated with Seljuk and Ottoman ornaments and patterns. The most auditorium, with audience boxes arranged in sections within, is additionally decorated during a similar style.
Its star patterned timber ceiling, arcs, cornices and lots of sections with mosaic decorations, except the crown door and some other items, which are included into the hall afterwards, reflect the architectural characteristics of its time.
First Room on the Left Side of the doorway
During the Second Turkish steeplechase Assembly this room was used as “Legislation Secretariat Room.” Today during this room, III. President of the Republic Mahmut Celal Bayar's life and events between 1950 and 1960 are presented in his own words and images. a number of his personal belongings, donated to the museum by his family, are displayed during this room.
Second Room on the Left Side of the doorway
Originally used as “Board of Directors Room” or “Administrative Committee Room” during the Second Turkish steeplechase Assembly period. Today it's being employed to display banknotes and coins, stamps, memorial coins and medals which were put into circulation since the founding of the Republic.
Third Room on the Left Side of the doorway
Originally used as an “Archives Room” during the Second Turkish Grand National Assembly period. Today it's getting used to displaying the II. President of the Republic, Ismet Inönü's life and events between 1938 and 1950 in his own words and images. a number of his personal belongings, donated to the museum by his family, also are on display during this room.
Main Assembly Hall
The Assembly’s presidential pulpit is found at the centre between the most entries of the hall.The entries are for the Ambassadors’ lodges and also the Honourable Presidential lodge is on the left side and also the audience and press boxes are at the rear of the hall.
During this hall the amount of members of parliaments sometimes had been up to 610, between 1924 - 1960. This building was converted to a museum after being transferred to the Ministry of Culture after having functioned because the Turkish Grand National Assembly until 1960.
Today during this museum, besides the routine exhibitions, occasional exhibitions, video shows and serial conferences occur so as to introduce the Independence War, the Republic and Atatürk to the visitors, especially to the young generation.