Temple of Hibis
Hibis Temple is located about 2 Km from the Kharga Oasis. It was built during the Persian period. The temple was built as a dedication to the Theban Triad.
The Temple of Hibis, which dates from 522 BC, was first excavated from the sands in 1910 by the Metropolitan Museum of New York, under the direction of Herbert Winlock.
The temple was built by an order of god Amun-Re had in 588 BC during the 26th dynasty , with work continued by his successor Amasis II and completed by Darius
The temple has suffered structural problems in recent years, which have been blamed on fluctuations in the water table caused by farming and irrigation