Thomson's Falls Guide
Thomson's Falls is a scenic waterfall on the Ewaso Ng’iro river. It’s a 74 meters waterfall, a few kilometers away from Lake Ol Bolossat which drains from the Aberdare Mountain Range. Tourists can view the falls from above and there is a trail down the bottom of the ravine. Upstream from the falls is one of the highest hippo pools in Kenya.
The falls appeared in the TV movie, The Man in The Brown Suit, the movie was in theaters around 1988.
Thomson's is one of the most recommended places to visit in Kenya as it’s view is one of the most beautiful views that can be seen in Kenya. Know more!
Facts about Thomson’s Falls
- In 1883, Joseph Thomson was the first European to reach Thomson Falls, and it was named after his father. Thomson was a geologist from Scotland, he was also the first man to walk from Mombasa to Lake Victoria in the early 1880s.
- The falls span a height of 72 meters. It contributed in discovering Nyahururu town and giving it its Colonial name.
- It is one of the major economic resources for the town of Nyahururu. Most of the revenue is received from tourists, as International and domestic and the charges are applied at the gate.
All you Need to Know about Thomson Falls
Location & How to Get There
Thomson’s Falls is situated on the Nyahururu outskirts. It is easily accessed by road and is 4 hours drive from Nairobi.
Climate & Best Time to Visit
Thomson Falls has an oceanic climate. It witnesses rainfall during almost all months of the year.
The best time to visit Thomson is between January to May and August to December. During these months the weather is pleasant and has limited rainfall. The highest average temperature is 26°C in january while the lowest average temperature is 19°C in june.
Why to visit Thomson’s Falls?
The Falls and its town have gone through plenty of changes and improvements through the years. Thus, it is worth visiting attraction in Kenya, although it is not a tourist center.
The Falls was one of the last towns to be established. A hut built by the Narok Angling Club in the early 1920s was the first sign of urbanization. It was built to give the members the opportunity to fish for the freshly introduced trout in the Ewaso Narok River, along with Pesi and Equator rivers.
Later in 1929, the railway branch line arrived and the town started to get active and to be on the map. The line is closed now. However, the hotel built in 1931, Thomson’s Falls Lodge is still present.
Nyahururu is still a significant market town. The market is worth visiting, especially on Saturdays.