ABU- Rawash, located in the continuation of Gebel el-Ghigiga. The western fringe of the Nile Valley (30°2'N,3l°4'E). The archaeological area of Abu Rowash, which belongs to the very northern part of the necropolis at Memphis, joins various sites together which date back to the Early Dynastic period, to the Coptic period.
This site is unfinished funerary complex of the forth dynasty ruler “Djedefra” (2566_2558 BC), the ancient name for which was "Djedefra" is a "sehedu star".
The king rained for about 8 years. This pyramid is very ruined condition today. The pyramid itself has a massive 49m channel cut into the bedrock to a 20m deep shaft. Djedefra’s cartouche was found in the burial chamber. That’s why we have said that this pyramid was built by him and was built out of lime stone.
The blocks of limestone, typical building blocks of the Giza tombs, were here angled towards the centre of the pyramid.The funerary complex of Djedefra, the third ruler of the fourth dynasty tc.2584—2576 BCE) was built at the top of this escarpment, on the plateau of Giza. The location of this pyramid has been known since the nineteenth century.
Between 1900 and 1902, Emile Chassinat discovered the remains of` a funerary settlement, a boat pit, and numerous statuary fragments that had the name of Didoufri (an early reading of (Djedefra), which allowed for the identification of the tombs owner ln 1912 and 1913. This site of the unfinished funerary complex of the forth dynasty ruler Djedefra (2566_2558 BC),the ancient name for which was "Djedefra" is a "sehedu star".
The mortuary temple on the east side of the pyramid and a large boat pit to the south were both excavated by Emile Chassinat in 1901. The boat pit contained many fragments of red quartzite statuary, including three painted heads from statues of Djedefra. One of which was probably from the earliest known royal sphinx.
To the north of the pyramid is wadi Quran site of the still unexcavated valley temple. As well as a number of remains of a much later date including part of a statue of Queen Arsinoe II, sister and wife of “PTOLEMY II”.
To the east of the pyramid complex is an Old kingdom cemetery, which was excavated .About two kilometers to the south are the remains of at brick-built Pyramid, comprising a knoll of rock and a burial chamber. This pyramid, the date of which is unknown, was still relatively well preserved when it was recorded in the early nineteenth century by the Germans.
1.Donald B. Redford, Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, Vol.1, Oxford University Press, Inc., Berlin, 2001
2.Ian Shaw and Paul Nicholson, The British Museum Dictionary Of Ancient Egypt, The American University in Cairo, 2002